Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

YouTube_01_thumbnailI’m jumping into the streaming currents of social media to share my life work in Medicine, Mindfulness, Art, Creativity, and Cultural Evolution with a new YouTube channel!    

 

To be honest, my interest in entering such a medium was sparked long ago when I was in college. I was fascinated with the Canadian philosopher Marshall McLuhan’s notion of television producing a ‘Global Village.’ This inspired my curiosity and creativity: Is our single brain linked to others via the media like a single neuron is link

ed to the whole brain/body? Is media a Global Brain? How can we use it to generate Mindful Globalism?  Is social media making this even more possible than before?  

I hope to address these issues with my new YouTube channel. I also hope this will be a way for me to share with a larger group about the critical issues that I confront in my clinical practice, such relationship stress, identity development, personal creativity, and much more.  Every day, I train and coach my patients in the 3 Fundamentals of human resilience: Being, Doing, and Meaning. 

The first video I’ve posted, is a short introduction to my new channel. I discuss the origins of my Brain-Mind-Creativity-Culture systems way of thinking.  

One key experience was during a two-month externship, during medical school, at the Tibetan Medical Center in Dharamsala, India. I studied Buddhist meditation, philosophy, and art. Later, this experience overlapped with my child psychiatry fellowship and studies of attachment theory. Both of these opportunities laid the foundation of what was to become Logosoma Brain Training. 

As a private practitioner, I integrated the concepts of mindfulness, psychiatry, and medicine and developed Logosoma Brain Training (LBT). In Greek, Logos is the word for “word” and soma means “body.” Therefore, Logosoma is an integration of the word or story and one’s body. In 2010, I published a book that featured LBT, titled PHANTOM STRESS: Brain Training to Master Relationship Stress. I hope to do another YouTube video that goes into more detail about how I came up with LBT.        

In addition to working with patients, I had the honor to train young doctors for over 20 years as an assistant professor of child psychiatry at Weill Medical College-Cornell University. My life long message to my patients, students and now the YouTube audience is:  

Pain and suffering are natural.  

Pain is inevitable; suffering is optional.   

The neuroplasticity of our brains allows us to rewire our ‘suffering networks’ and learn new ‘creativity networks’ through mindfulness practice, and self-making. We have the capacity of autopoiesis! 

So, I invite you to join me on YouTube! Let’s explore the possibilities of participating in the emergence of a humanistic, mindful, social media. Perhaps a new species tribalism will emerge as the driving force of GLOBAL HUMANISM.